Through the Eyes Of a Child

I was sitting here today trying to write and looked up at my 11 month old grandson. He is new to walking and finding his way through the world. As I watched him travel through the house in and out of my office he fell on more than one occasion and got right back up laughing.

I look at my grandson and wonder what happened to me? What happen to the person who looked at trails as a learning experience? The person who laughed at those who said I couldn’t? The person who took disappointment smiled, learned and moved on?

My grandson has a joy in everything, it’s all new and wonderful and he doesn’t know that he should not be able to do what he is trying to do. He doesn’t know that he can’t pick up that jar, move that chair or climb the stairs. To him it is a new challenge and he is determined to overcome it.

He walks two steps and falls down, laughs and gets back up and walks two more steps only to fall again. With encouragement and determination he is now walking like a pro. Yes, he is still a little unsteady at times, however he keeps going.

That is how I want to be again. I have fallen down so many times and only kept going a little each time I fell I allowed the hurt and negative seep into my soul and stop me from being my whole person. I want to get back to the place where I fall and get back up with laughter and determination. I want to see the world again as a challenge to overcome and not as a deterrent and as a bleak place where no smiles exist.

I want to be like my grandson smile as I fall and laugh as I get up determined to get over this challenge to concur the next. We should all look at the world through babies eyes and find the joy in small things. To smile more than we frown and to be happy just to be happy.

Let’s encourage each other let’s be like the children spread love, not hate, smile instead of frowning. Met all challenges with determination and hope.

Leave a comment